Windows 2000 Pro keeps crashing

Senrabi 22:17 13 Jun 03

After playing a game on my PC, it will crash by resetting itself. No blue screen, just turns off, then goes through scandisk & often then turns itself off again? Then another scan disk & then loads up OK. This problem seems to have happened since I went onto Broadband. Any ideas?

Valvegrid 07:17 14 Jun 03

I'm no expert on WIN2000 pro, although we use it at work, it rarely goes wrong. Have you got a firewall set up? you'll need it if you are on broadband, this one is quite good: click here

If you find some that's trying to access the net it may also be worth running a spy-ware program like this one; click here

Otherwise, have a look in task manager, Alt+Ctrl+Delete and see what's running in the background. You may have to post back with the results.

Michael-240508 08:20 14 Jun 03

I had this problem after a clean install of Win2000 and found that the problem was related to my firewall. Firstly I found that my Norton Firewall was no good so I changed to Zone Alarm. Then I found that if I increased my security levels I had the same problem with Zone Alarm.
I now use Sygate and to date have had no problems.
It is also worth mentioning that Win2000 is not really any good for games. The only game I have loaded is a golf game which doesn't use many resources.

smcarlsen 08:52 14 Jun 03

Could be a hardware fault, possibly a cooling problem. Does it reset itself at anytime or just after you have finished playing the game? Does it reset after using any other apps?

Senrabi 09:51 14 Jun 03

Generally it only crashes whilst or directly after playing a game (my lads by the way), however when I'm using it properly(!?) for interwebbing, word processing or other things it is ok.

I have zonelarm as a firewall and nortons as vc but did not have this problem pre-broadband. I did a clean install of W2k since broadband was installed.