Will not boot after installing DVD

Farleyjim 15:35 20 Mar 05

I have just installed a DVD recorder on a friend's PC operating Windows 98. Everything went well and I installed the accompanying Nero software. All went well until "System needs to reboot to complete installation". The machine started and loaded up until the desktop picture was showing but none of the system bar icons appeared on the right hand bottom bar. The installed stalled there. Alt/control/delete showed that the following were not responding:
wpctrl95,rundll,and msgsrv32.
I've forgotten how to start 98 in safe mode since I have been using XP Home for two years. Has anybody any ideas what to do next? Many thanks.

VoG II 15:37 20 Mar 05

Safe Mode click here

pj123 15:42 20 Mar 05

Is it windows 98 or windows 98SE? If 98SE switch on and keep hitting the F8 key until you get a menu. Select Safe Mode from there. Once in Safe Mode go to Start, Shut Down, Shut down and then reboot.

Farleyjim 15:59 20 Mar 05

I've managed to start in safe mode, thanks, Vog but when I came to uninstall the Nero software, which I assumed to be the culprit, there were only two programs showing to uninstall whereas I installed six from the Nero CD. I uninstalled those anyway but the boot up still stops at the same position.

VoG II 16:02 20 Mar 05

Start, Restart in MS-DOS Mode. At the prompt type

scanreg /restore

and press the Enter key. This should give a list of dates to restore to. Choose one before the problem arose.

VoG II 16:04 20 Mar 05

That is after starting in Safe Mode of course.

Farleyjim 16:47 20 Mar 05

Thanks Vog. I'm back up and working now but I'm a bit nervous about reloading the Nero software.

VoG II 16:48 20 Mar 05

Well, now that you know how to recover you could give it one more go.

Farleyjim 17:22 21 Mar 05