Wifi cable ok ADSL no go

mick42 22:18 14 Feb 10

Hi, here's my situation, have laptop running vista,and a netbook with xp, have virgin cable and this laptop conects with no problems as does a netbook.
If with vista I click 'connect to' I see my own wifi as well as 4 others belonging to nearby houses, so far so good.

At another address I have, I have virgin but no cable so is adsl, Got a new router of virgil,Netgear dg834g v5.And after 2hours on the phone to them (foc) we could only get it running with a cable, no wifi.. everything they did went round in circles. all lights are green.

If I go to 'connect to' I see.. " the settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network" and a red X.
Is there a conflict with the settings I have for my other connection, I'm lost.

Would love some help please
Ta Mike

User-1229748 00:39 15 Feb 10

i'm no expert at all but i think if you remove your wireless network from your pc that you have from your other address you will then be able to manually make a connection to your new address.also the dg834gv5 is a complete pile of the proverbial.virgin are still giving this router out when they know it's not up to the job.

User-1229748 01:27 15 Feb 10

just to add the v3 and v4 versions are fine.i've got 2 v5's :o( i upgraded from 10 mb to 20 mb and so thought that entitled me to a new wireless n router from virgin.well apparently not as all they would send was another dg834gv5 which i believe uses a conexant and not a broadcom chipset and so loses about a couple of mb download with adsl and is not fit for purpose at all with adsl2+ .to delete your wireless network right click and select remove

mgmcc 08:05 15 Feb 10

You should be able to connect to either wireless network and have profiles for both saved in the PC's settings.