Which wireless LAN router? (not ADSL/cable)

polymath 16:51 09 Jul 08

I'm only after shopping advice at the moment, but browsing for it isn't really an option, my dialup connection being around 9.6kbps; 7.2 last night, not to mention the timeouts & noisy phone line. (But the PC Advisor site is thoughtfully clutter-free!).

I want to connect my PC and laptop wirelessly. Both run Vista Home Premium and are wireless enabled, and the PC has onboard LAN/network controller.
I'm new to networking as well as BB, & have never had any dealings with routers; what are wireless ones called when they're purely for LANs?
I can't get the right search keywords right for postings that aren't about ADSL or cable routers.

I am getting broadband in a few days, but it's a different kettle of fish - beamed wirelessly from a mast to equipment at the house, and then by cable to the PC's network (RJ45) port.

The PC has just the one network port. Do I need some sort of adapter as well as a router (or maybe there are routers I could also plug the BB cable into? The BB will be 2-way).
I presume all LANs work for sharing an internet connection?

Do I need to buy some receiver widget for the laptop?

Most UK shops don't ship here, but any manufacturers' names would be useful.

Sorry to ask such basic things here - once I have the BB I shouldn't have to. Just when searching here I've already happened on, & printed, enough how-to info to get going. (One point was about creating the LAN with cable before making it wireless, so I know about checking if there's a LAN cable with the modem).

I'll be back as soon as time & vagaries of connection allow, but it could be tomorrow.

polymath 19:39 09 Jul 08