Which Windows 7 to buy?

stlucia2 20:01 04 Jan 15

I've been running Windows XP for several years now, and am aware that MS no longer support it. Recently my bank has advised me that they also no longer support it for internet banking so, although everything still works well, I feel it's time to move on.

I have an HP Pavillion PC with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core processor 4600+. I've heard that Windows 8 is a bit of a disaster unless you have a touch screen (I don't), so am thinking of upgrading to Windows 7.

My problem is, there's so many versions of Windows 7 when I look at the big web sellers. I presume I should go for a 64-bit version, and I would like to to be able to upgrade from my XP without having to re-install all my programs. Is Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64 what I need?

Or how close is the next version of Windows, and should I wait for that?

Ian in Northampton 20:51 04 Jan 15

The 64-bit version will only be useful for you if you have more than 4GB of memory. If you have 4GB or less, 32-bit will be fine. In terms of which version to go for: if you're a fairly 'normal' user of PCs, Windows 7 Home would be fine: other versions, such as Professional, that are more expensive have features that you probably won't have use for. Whether or not you'll need to reinstall your programs depends on many factors, but I think I'm right in saying - others will know more - that you can't do an 'over the top' upgrade from XP to W7: it would have to be a fresh install, which would indeed involve you reinstalling your programs. Before you make the move, it might be worthwhile checking whether your programs will run under W7.

You may also want to think about whether your PC is 'up to' Windows 7. It really needs a faster processor and more memory than XP did.