which way is best for uninstalling?

march 13:25 04 Dec 04

just a little query & not a problem

if a program has an uninstall feature is it best to use that it to uninstall or would it be better to uninstall from add/remove programs or doesn't it make any difference which is used?

Technotiger 13:39 04 Dec 04

Hi, I think it is a case of 6 of 1 half-a-dozen-of-the-other. I usually use a programs built-in uninstaller; but I suppose this could intentionally leave bits on your hdd for whatever reason. Just my opinion, perhaps others know better! lol

march 13:49 04 Dec 04

yep, sometimes when I have used the programs own uninstaller it will say "uninstaller could not remove these files" then it gives a list so they can be removed manually but as I am not very technical I dont even know where to start looking to remove them & really dont want to in case I make a mess of things.

jack 14:33 04 Dec 04

If a program comes with its own uninstall routine
that is the one to use.
Sometimes a reboot will finalize the job
Do a reg clean after and Bobs yer uncle

march 14:38 04 Dec 04

thanks for your reply jack,

I wouldn't know how to do a reg clean so would you have to do a reg clean after using add/remove?

Jackcoms 15:40 04 Dec 04

Reg cleaner/bits and bobs remover click here

Clint2 15:42 04 Dec 04

I use this method donated by one of the forum's experts. It works for me.

Windows Add/Remove uses the application's own uninstaller if one is available, so there's nothing wrong with heading directly for that immediately.

All ways leave much behind, and I always clear out everything afterwards with Find and Regedit Find, which it's perfectly safe to do. I've cleared literally hundreds of programs in this way and never once experienced a problem. Always remember that Windows keeps five days of registry backups in store anyway.