Which router is best ?

M&Meera 16:16 19 Nov 07

Hi, I am not good with computers can anyone recommend a router I am on Virgin Media cable / broadband. My computer is going to be put at the bottom of the back garden in a office, 30-35ft away the modem is situated upstairs back bedroom with by the window, there is only one wall in the way. The main issues are that it shouldnt cause problems like internet slowing down drastically, or locking up etc. must run smoothly, also at some point in the near future I'll be getting a lap top to use in the house so it needs to be future proof too. Please help a computer novice !.

Ashrich 12:11 20 Nov 07

Personally I would go for running ethernet cable down to the office , far more reliable , but if you must have wireless then go for one of the new " Draft N " routers , the D-Link one ( DIR-655 Extreme ) would be my choice , in the reviews I have read it has been top of the pile , but be prepared to spend more than average on suitable kit to go with it , either a PCI or PCIe card or a USB dongle to match the spped on offer . New laptops nowadays seem to come with wireless N cards built in , so you'd need to check the one you want has that capability as well .

Ashley

Strawballs 21:10 21 Nov 07

I have been using a Linksys wrt54g now for 3 yrs without problems, I can access my network from the house opposite upstairs at the back with my laptop and the router is downstairs at the back of my house, there is a speedboost version but I have seen people complaining about them and as even on virgin the fastest connection speed is 20meg so the 54meg is quite enough.

uesquebeathus 16:06 22 Nov 07

if you want a reliable fuss free stick to a wired system, maybe in a few years we will have caught up and have a pain/fuss free and secure wireless system but its not here yet, and all very good routers should have built in Firewall protection

john bunyan 18:00 22 Nov 07

Strawballs