Which Is quickest TI restoration source?

Simsy 18:38 20 Apr 07

Folks,

I've been helping a mate who, last autumn, bought a PC for the first time, a laptop. It's an Asus, (can't remember which model exactly), with 1 gig RAM, 1.6Gig CPU, and an 80Gig HDD.

I've got it partitioned so the OS and Apps are on the 12 Gig C drive, and about 8 Gigs are used, with 4 gig free.

He recently had a bit of a hiccup and as he's a complete novice, and I wasn't available, he phoned ASUS, who had had him use the “restore” facility which took it back to factory settings!

Fortunately it didn't undo the partitioning I'd done so I was able to get it back to what it was like in February using a TrueImage I'd made. The image file was on one of the other partitions.

Now bearing in mind the spec of the machine, and the fact that the partiton in question is about 12 Gig with 8 used, (ie the image file is approx 4-5 gig), and the image was on the same physical HDD, I didn't expect it to whizz through... but it seemed to take quite a long time to restore, about 2 hours.

(For reference, if I restore my desktop machine C drive which has similar sizes, using a 1.3 gig CPU, 512RAM, but a source file on a differernt internal HDD, it take about 15-20 mins)

Now we've got the issue of it being a laptop, so I assume it's a slower HDD, and restoring from the same HDD obviously slows thing down, but even so...

I'm NOT seeking advice on the wisdom, or otherwise, of partitioning, and the practice of using the same HDD...

What I WOULD like an opinion on is...

What would you expect to be the quicker restoration source, another partition on the same HDD, (as we've used), a DVD, or an external HDD via USB2, (which he has).

(We both have True Image version 8)

Thanks in anticipation,

Regards,

Simsy

Simsy 10:03 21 Apr 07

No-one tempted to affer an opinion?

Regards,

Simsy

gudgulf 10:56 21 Apr 07