which pc spec is beter

Crookie2 19:33 01 Mar 06

I used to have a pentium 4 3.4ghz processor with 1gb ddr. I had nothing but problems with it and after nearly 2months of pc world tring to fix it the decided to give me a better one,or so they say. I now have a pentium D 3.0 ghz and 1gb of ddr. I asked if it was slower because it was only a 3.0 but he said no the pentium D was a faster processor. I've had it for about 2 weeks and it seems a lot slower. Have i been conned?

SG Atlantis® 19:54 01 Mar 06

it's a dual core processor. you should not notice any speed difference with .4Ghz. what's the full spec of the systems?

Totally-braindead 19:57 01 Mar 06

I was waiting for someone to answer this as I've no knowledge of Intel processors. If you've got a dual processor upgrade then I would say thats worthwhile.

SG Atlantis® 20:00 01 Mar 06

click here

Explains them all.

Crookie2 20:06 01 Mar 06

the replacement is a Packard Bell IXTREAM GOLD MC2108
Intel Pentium D processor 830
2 x 512mb DDR2 - 533 memory
2 x 250 mb hard drives
Dvd rom
Dvd writer
card reader

That's all it says on the side of the box that i thinks relevant.

I didn't think there would be much of a differance either but pinnicle is a lot slower on this pc.

SG Atlantis® 20:16 01 Mar 06

It is a slower processor but it has 2 cores which means you can run multiple applications at once without any lag. As time goes on more software is being written to utilize multiple cores, ie multi threaded, I think the term is.

But seriously I can't see 400MHz speed difference being noticeable, what else are you doing on the system or have running? Have you removed the crap that system mfrs throw in?

007al 20:30 01 Mar 06

Was it bundled woth Norton anti-virus? This takes up a lot of system resource.