What's the difference between...

brewersfan 20:04 01 Jun 03

... oem and retail? As a newbie pc builder, I fancy having a go at building a base unit. The spec I'm looking at is P4 2.4 on a Gigabyte 8SQ800 board, 9500 Pro, 512 MB of PC400, 80Gb HDD, DVD player, XP Pro, 5.1 speakers. I reckon I can get the lot for less than £700, but I believe that's based on so-called retail prices (apart from XP oem). Don't know if that's a good price or not, but maybe it can be reduced somewhat by using oem products... whatever they are? Help would be appreciated by anyone please!

Thanks,
brewersfan

Agent Smith 20:06 01 Jun 03

OEM + Original Manufacturers Equipment (I think) comes on it's own by itself with no manuals etc.

Agent Smith 20:07 01 Jun 03

OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturers

DieSse 20:12 01 Jun 03

OEM is for supply to system builders. Although you can also sometimes buy them at retail, they are not packaged the same.

There is no particular standard of difference - you may or may not get a box, software, cables and screws, documentation - and even sometimes the product is not identical. You will also not necessarily be entitled to the same level of support from the manufacturer.

It really varies a lot from item to item, and there are no hard and fast rules.

-pops- 20:13 01 Jun 03

No point in buying glossy print boxes just to chuck away and fancy, expensive manuals that you'll never read. I always buy OEM when I can and save loads of money - you would be best doing this as well.

Brian

wunup 20:14 01 Jun 03

oem is no frills.Just stuffed in a box. Retail is all buzzers and bells and you pay more for it. If you get stuck without a manual you can always post here for help.

Quiller. 20:18 01 Jun 03