what should i look out for before i upgrade??

bta1 22:38 14 Jul 05

I am going to upgrade my graphics card, (to a g-force 128mb thing)because my current graphcis are on board and after three years i have realised thats crap.

Also, i would like to increase my hard disk, possibly my processor (only if i absolutley have to) and i have just brought a dvdrw.

I have a 2.0ghz celron processor with 512mb and 80g hard disk, running xp.
The mother board is:-
Board: Shuttle Inc MV43
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 07.00T 04/02/01

So what should i look out for before i buy anything. And does anyone know if this stuff is easy. (I've read about it and it looks easy.)

woodchip 22:48 14 Jul 05

You need to tell us what you use your computer for

herc182 22:51 14 Jul 05

if you have on board graphics with a 2ghz celeron i would guess that your upgrade is for gaming. if so what is your budget?

I am a novice and have fitted a hard drive, dvd write, power supply and graphics card (with the total help of this forum) so it is not difficult to do.

bta1 01:13 15 Jul 05

"What do you use your computer for?"

Not much. Mainly for work. in all honesty it doesn't NEED upgrading but i want to.

I wouldn't want to spend more than £200 on the lot, any more i may aswell buy a new one.

And yes, the new graphics card is for games but i am not too concerned with the most up to date 3d consoles type games. i have an x-box for that.

What concerns me is whether the new hardware will clash with the old stuff. So i buy a new graphics card and its usless. Also the fact that i don't really know what i am doing.

Completealias 01:28 15 Jul 05

The first thing that you need to do is find out the specs of your motherboard eg does it have an AGP slot ( Accelerated graphics port) if so then you can get an AGP graphics card, as far as processor upgrades you will need to find out what cpu's your motherboard supports