What is this problem with Onetel?

pj123 15:50 06 Dec 04

I was an IT teacher/trainer for a county council but I have now retired. I still have around 10 people I teach privately. Three of these are using Onetel as their ISP, which used to be "@onetel.net.uk" They have now received emails from onetel advising that it is now "@onetel.com" and they should change their settings.

They have all followed the instructions but none of them can receive emails anymore. They can still send emails but can't receive. All they get is a window asking for their ID and Password. When they enter these details and click OK they get the same window again.

I have given 2 of them the Internet Helpline number but both of them have rung me back saying they have followed the "talk through" but it still doesn't work. Should they change their ISP?

Unfortunately, Onetel won't talk to me as I am not the account holder, so I can't help.

Why don't ISPs make it easier to make the changes.

Cook2 16:30 06 Dec 04

First check POP3 and see if it says POP3.onetel.com or mail.onetel.com
If it's the latter, it used to be, then check SMTP is set the same e.g

SMTP as mail.onetel.com or smtp.onetel.com

This is from memory when I used them before changing to cable.

SANTOS7 16:41 06 Dec 04

click here
this may help,

pj123 16:44 06 Dec 04

Cook2, Thanks for that. Have checked and the pop3 addresses and smtp adddresses are correct.

If you send an email to them on @onetel.net.uk they were getting it but with a message from Onetel saying that it has been redirected, and they won't get the redirection after a certain date. That date has now gone and they don't get emails redirected anymore.

pj123 16:59 06 Dec 04

SANTOS7, that isn't much good. The pop3 addresses are still listed there as onetel.net.uk

They have now changed to onetel.com so have the pop3 addresses changed or not?

Meshuga 17:00 06 Dec 04