What pc for photos

Coggsey 13:42 08 May 06

Hi,
I am looking to buy a new desktop PC for email and internet searches at home. However, I am interested in digital photography. I am a beginner in this area but wish to take it seriously. What specifications should I be looking for in terms of CPU, memory, hard drive, graphics card, software, etc, etc? Plus any information that I should also consider. Many thanks if anyone can help.

Kind regards,
Steve

Jaro 13:47 08 May 06

READ THIS IT MAY HELP YOU click here

hssutton 14:51 08 May 06

I would suggest that the "click here" above is totally out of date.

You do not say which type of photo editing software you intend using or whether you will be doing serious image editing.

Looking at the Dell site suggests that any of their current offerings will suffice, prices start at £349.
As an alternative have a look at this one click here
80Gb hard disk should be the minimum, but a second H/D or preferably external H/D is preferable if you intend to store a lot of photos

Totally-braindead 15:02 08 May 06

Agree with hssutton virtually any PC will do what you want, the bigger the hard drive the better, you don't need a good graphics card for just photos onboard graphics will do but if there is any possability at all that you may do video editing or play games I strongly suggest you get a PC with a PCI Express slot or at least an AGP slot so that, if needed you can upgrade it by putting in a graphics card. Theres been a few people caught out when they or their kids wanted to use some software, usually a game and found there was no way to upgrade as there was no graphics card slot. Suggest 512mb RAM and get an external drive as has been suggested for backing up your photos.

Confab 15:02 08 May 06

Has that article been re-written? A PIV system with 128MB ram? That doesn't seem right to me.

Confab

Confab 15:03 08 May 06

I would say if its running XP then a least 1Gig would be best.

Totally-braindead 15:22 08 May 06