What is my firewall blocking??

southpaw 20:42 25 Apr 05

Hi

I'm new to Broadband and have just downloaded Sygate Firewall.

The only thing is I'm not sure what some of the programs are that it is blocking?

I allow programs such as Outlook when I download my emails but what are things such as NTOSKRNL.EXE and SVCHOST.EXE???

Is there anyway I can check what things are?

Thanks in advance.

VoG II 20:52 25 Apr 05

Go to click here

click here - should not be trying to connect

click here - could be lots of things.

I think an online scan is in order click here

southpaw 22:08 25 Apr 05

Thanks VoG™

I did a scan and found nothing.

I have AVG Antivirus, Spybot and Adaware so was hoping Housecall would find nothing.

Pooke100 22:13 25 Apr 05

are "NTOSKRNL.EXE and SVCHOST.EXE" trying to dial out out, or is it inbound??

southpaw 22:19 25 Apr 05

Incoming.

Pooke100 22:24 25 Apr 05

It's nothing to worry about you can turn off the alerts or beeps by going to "tools" then "options" if you wish.

All that is, is something on the outside trying to get in, the firewall is doing what it's meant to do.

I use sygate firewall aswell , it's very good!

rods 00:29 26 Apr 05

type the exact wording i.e 'NTOSKRNL.EXE' in google, this will then tell you exactly what it is as its more then likely to be a processor but you can never be to sure.

I have just typed it in google and it says it is an essential boot up process to your system...so dont block it!!!

I always use this process to check my processor list, if something unrecognisable appears i always type in just to make sure it aint a virus etc.

PS just type the word your looking up nothing else.

Good luck

Pooke100 00:39 26 Apr 05

"type the exact wording i.e 'NTOSKRNL.EXE' in google, this will then tell you exactly what it is as its more then likely to be a processor but you can never be to sure.
I have just typed it in google and it says it is an essential boot up process to your system...so dont block it!!!"