What HTML editors do you use?

Sturmey 18:48 24 Aug 04

Hi, just wanted to get the low down on HTMl editors, I am new to web design I have a little HTML knowledge. I heard a lot about Macromedia dreamweaver is it the best for beginner/inermediate or has anyone used Adobe Golive or any others of note.

Thanks

Forum Editor 19:07 24 Aug 04

in fact it's probably the most common question, and my answer is always the same.

DreamWeaver is an excellent web-design programme, but it has a farly steep learning curve, and I wouldn't personally recommend it for your first encounter with WYSIWYG web-design applications. Leave it for later - when you've gained some experience.

That leaves me with two recommendations - either Microsoft's FrontPage 2003, which is every bit as powerful as DreamWeaver (more so in some respects) but an easier ride for beginners, or NetObjects Fusion, which might prove the better choice at the beginning. Its latest version is a delight to use, and has dozens of ready-to-go templates. Few people have an unlimited budget, and if I had to pick the ideal programme for the complete beginner my vote would go to NOF. If it's your birthday treat yourself to FrontPage as well, and practice. Bear in mind that to get the very best out of FrontPage you'll need to host your site on a Windows server with the FrontPage extensions installed, and if you want to know what all that's about post back and one of us will explain.

Sturmey 19:58 24 Aug 04

Hey thanks a lot, never heard of NetObjects I will check it out. I've heard of frontpage and frontpage extensions didnt know they had to be hosted on windows server tho. Just out of interest, I know that pcadvisor site is dynamic but what technology do you use is it asp,php etc.

Taran 23:24 24 Aug 04

Macromedia Cold Fusion on a Windows IIS server.