what DOES find AND REMOVE spyware?????

df118 13:06 03 Mar 04

can anyone recommend a programme that DOES find AND remove spyware . am running Wondos 98 2nd ed.refer to my other on " missing files" for problems I am having with bazooka and Spyhunter and spykiller, both of which have removed needed files from my computer on uninstalling them.....anything "free" or relatively cheep????

Taff36 13:13 03 Mar 04

Diodorus Siculus gave you the links to Adaware & Spybot in your original thread. Recommend you follow them.

df118 21:23 06 Mar 04

DO adaware and spybot DO what they are supposed Tto do; my Guard IE works beautifully, stopping ads etc.IS there a programme I CAN run safetly and remove safetly if I am not happy with it for find ing and safetly removing spyware and bugs..I do NOT want another HUGER repair bill for this system.........and PLEASE no one moan at me for being cautios. I AM a novice at this and do not want to mess upthis system any more than it already IS......

sattman 21:41 06 Mar 04

Adaware and Spybot are both reliable programmes.

With regard to your earlier problem regarding deleted essential files.

The safe practice is to temporarily rename any files that you have doubts about deleting and wait a while to see if your computor is ok with out the file. You can restore the original name if the file proves to be still essential.

Kinder Scout 21:50 06 Mar 04

If you have spare cash lying around Webroots Spysweeper is excellent. click here

df118 21:58 06 Mar 04

forgot to mention ,, do NOT want a firwall on this sytem if any of the above suggestions contain one; HAD one here a whil ago anf it drove me NUTTY; took IT off an dcreated even MORE problms with files coming of that needed to stay on;; yes, I HAVE had fun and games with this thing......