What to do regarding shutting down comp on BT BB

  mammak 23:35 15 Jul 04
Locked

Might seem like a silly question folk's
in fact knowing me it most likely is,
Just got BT Broadband installed today (love it after a crap 31kbps dialup)its a dream,
now do i shut down my comp as before,
or do i leave it on, So i do not have to reconnect my BB connection,
AV updated and running firewall the same,
Winxp pro>spybot s/d >adware 6>spywareblaster>a2squared all updated.
Regard,s Mammak

  terryr48 23:38 15 Jul 04

Just shut down as normal-when you fire your comp up BB will automaticly connect-or at least mine does

  Smegs 23:38 15 Jul 04

Turn it off as before.

  mammak 23:43 15 Jul 04

Thank you both do i disconnect BB as would have dialup, then shut down,
sorry for being so dim,
but it is a new world to me lol.
Regards Mammak.

  johnsims 23:45 15 Jul 04

No, just shut down the computer.

  THE TERMINATOR 23:46 15 Jul 04

Hello, is your BB paid for on a monthly direct debit? If so then you do not have to worry about how many times you re-connect. You are ALWAYS ON or in other words always connected, wether you are or not, the line is paid for. Wether you close down your pc at the end of the day will depend on you, or wether you are downloading overnight....TT

  hillybilly 23:47 15 Jul 04

If you have a modem/router you switch off your computer and leave the mod/router switched on, if you just have a BT USB modem, you will to reconnect each time you restart your Pc. But it should connect within a few seconds!

  mammak 23:54 15 Jul 04

Hi THE TERMINATOR yes i pay my BB monthly,
hillybilly i have a BT USB Modem,
so i would just shut down my comp as normal,
then on reload i should reconnect via my icon on my desktop,
is this right?
thanks to you all on your quick and helpful response's Mammak

  terryr48 23:55 15 Jul 04

No need to disconnect BB just shut down as normal turn your power off, when you start your comp BB will auto connect.

  hillybilly 23:59 15 Jul 04

I got 2 b/b accounts one for biz an one for home and when I boot both I do'nt get connected until I click on the btopenworld icon. Can you tell me if there is a setting that can change it, because both are just standard setups out the box?

  mammak 00:06 16 Jul 04

Thank you all, think i got it now,
just right clicked on my comp icon's status running for 9and half hours,
havent reconnected once lol.
Again thank you all for your help.
Regards Mammak.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Sniper Elite 4 review: Headshotting Nazis has never felt so good

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

The Fresh New Fonts of 2017

WWDC 2017 dates: How to get WWDC 2017 tickets, when is WWDC 2017 and more details announced