What is the cheapest easiest way to...............

Jason-284828 19:45 27 Dec 03

......To share a broadband connection between 2 PC's.

I have NTL 600K Broadband through a modem not set top box and want to share the connection between the 2 PC's, the first is running XP home and has Ethernet & USB port's the second is running WIN 98 and again has ethernet & USB ports.

The first PC is allways on while the second is only used occasionally.

Thanks for any help.

gold 47 23:11 27 Dec 03

I am new to broadband but have found in my case i am with AOL you can use two broadband modems one on each computer but like dial up you can't use two at the same time and as i have found with ADSL one computer must be powered down not left in standbye

Jason-284828 23:52 27 Dec 03

I've only got the one modem and want to be able to use the connection on both machines at once.

DieSse 00:14 28 Dec 03

How is the modem connected?

Jason-284828 00:17 28 Dec 03

At the moment it's connected via USB to the PC with XP Home, If I want to use the internet on the WIN 98 pc I have to unplug the modem and plug it in via USB

TECHNODIMWIT 00:32 28 Dec 03

link both PC`s via a X-over cable, run the network wizard on the PX pc, follow instructions
run the floppy in the win98 pc, and off you go

Jason-284828 00:38 28 Dec 03

What floppy, I don't have a floppy drive on my XP Machine.

I take it you mean some kind of ethernet cable, will the one I got with the cable modem be the right one or will it be a trip to PC World tomorrow.

How long are the cables????

pcgal 02:55 28 Dec 03

jason u need to purchase a crossover cable to connect both RJ45 ethernet ports.
Xp wizard will configure your master computer but the floppy it creates will not run on win98.

I still recommend running the xp network wizard but do not create a floppy at the end of the wizard process just end without creating.