what to 'back up' and where does it go?

mec13 17:18 03 Jul 05

Although not an absolute beginner, this is my level on most computer subjects, one being 'back ups'. All the time someone brings up this 'dont forget to 'back up' thing, and thanks to this forum I downloaded it for my xp home system. The trouble is when I've tried doing it, its confusing what to actually 'back up' and what do you do with it when its done! I presume back up is if all is lost on my machine, this 'back up' will get me back online again. That big list which Im supposed to select what to back up, well I presume, I want it all. It definatley wont go on a floppy, so I suppose it needs to be copied onto a cd! Or does it go somewhere else on my computer, which seems a bit silly if its broke down! Err this is the complete beginners section, isn't it! My hard drive is '160 things big' but its about 70% free

Forum Editor 18:01 03 Jul 05

perhaps you could tell us that, so we know how to advise you?

If you're backing up data files - letters and images etc., it's sometimes better to back up to a CD, so if something drastic happens to the computer you'll still have your important files.

Diodorus Siculus 18:06 03 Jul 05

Backups
click here

mec13 18:38 03 Jul 05

Thats my piont FE, when I tried 'back up' a list on the left hand side ask's me to tick want I want to back up. I've just got xp home, and all the usual software that comes with most computers. Obviusly some personal stuff also. I might have the wrong end of the stick here, but my idea of 'back up' is, if all failed, this back up(I keep repeating myself) which I'm supposed to do will re install all my damaged software etc, back to working order. Trying to decide what to back up confuses me, because how do I know which part of my computer has or might break down, so I thought back everything up just in case!