What are the signs of a HD on its last legs ?

tonyx1302 16:52 08 Feb 09

My desktop is over seven years old and over the last month or so takes about 15/20mins to fully boot up. I have ran all the free Malware/virus/Ccleaners/Reg cleaners/Optimisers etc,etc,etc.....all to no avail. I have booted up with the minimum..SwTerm and AVG. No difference. and I am wondering if the HD is past its use by date.
I have always kept the machine clean inside and out and daily cleanups etc. The pc has plenty of memory and only one third of the hd is used.
Is there any way I can test the drive or could it be something more sinister...cpu or something else giving up the ghost?
I am not experienced enough to do any major checks but would be very grateful for any simple tests.
I run XP home with SP2 on BB and it is only ever used for emails/WP work and the Internet and BIOS(?????) is way beyond me. Sorry
I am out till about 5pm but will respond asap when I get home
Thanking you

Tony

Diemmess 17:26 08 Feb 09

Many and various, often no warning signs at all, just sudden death!

Many of the HD manufacturers publish their own little programs to perform basic health checks on an HD.
Have a look for your HD's name and then search the manufacturer's site.

There is a significant list to be found with Google, and dedicated programs to download, but I would caution you about making a hobby of it.
Too rigourus attention could finish an elderly HD

Don't overlook the obvious safety move and back everything up while it is working.
Treat yourself to a copy of Acronis and have a complete installation ready to restore to C: drive on a new HD

grey george 17:33 08 Feb 09