Websites for dummies................

tlr 20:09 26 Mar 05

Hi
I am new to trying to get a website up and running and dont have a clue how to go about it, I downloaded net objects from PC Advisor and set out my site but I need to know how to get it from my PC to the net, I would like to know how domain names work, what I should look for in a host and what to pay, what advantage is there in having a domain name and do I need it, can I update my web site when I need to. Generally any advice and tips you can offer

Cheers
Dave

Pesala 23:13 26 Mar 05

Click the Publish Site icon, where you need to create a profile to use for your new website.

For the new profile, choose remote, and enter the upload details for you webspace. (If you have an ISP, then you probably already have some webspace. If they don't provide any, you will have to find some free hosting or buy some). 1&1 do some good deals with a domain name thrown in. Free ones usually have advertising which can spoil your website.

NTL proved 55 Mbytes, Plusnet provide even more.

The new profile dialogue looks like this: click here

The details for the FTP host you will need to get from your ISP. For NTL it is upload.ntlworld.com.

Then you are advised to enter a directory so that you can publish more than one website to the same webspace, or store some pictures, etc. Your password will be given as part of the ISP registration process, you can change it later.

You don't need a domain, unless you want to be famous.

This is my website on my domain: click here

and this is the same website published to my ISP webspace as a backup (mirror) in case my domain server goes down: click here