Website software

mrperfectpz 14:03 15 Mar 04

I am using netobjects fusion 7. I have built a site at present but i am still learning and want to better it. Am i using the best software or are there better ones out there ?

Have a look at my site if you like and I would apprecaite any input about it eg: how and where i am going wrong or where i am right. the site is penwithpool.com.

Thanks

whatsupdoc 14:09 15 Mar 04

i think that netobjects7 is one if not the best web programs around. its fairly simple to use and it works well for amateurs like me but I've been told that lots of pros use it as well.
PS i like the site very much apart from too many moving gifs that may slow down pages for those dial up customers
regards nick

Taran 14:46 15 Mar 04

Yours is a nice looking site and you should feel proud of it.

If you want some contructive criticism, I'd agree with whatsupdoc about the gif images. They don't really add anything to the site and take time to download over narrowband dial up connections.

I'd also suggest that you reconsider two main issues:

1. You've designed a default page size that does not collapse dynamically.

Fixed width is all well and good but on any screen resolution lower than 1024x768 you have a horizontal scrollbar and about a third of the page disappears. People don't mind vertical scrolling too much [within reason] but research has shown that horizontal scrolling is a big turn-off for many web surfers. You could possibly lose visitors due it this.

2. You've wasted some of your screen real estate by filling the left hand panel with stsic images, animated gifs and the hit counter.

Don't get me started on hit counters. In brief, they take up screen space that could be put to better use, most web hosts offer far more accurate statistics as part of your hosting account than a web counter can provide and do you really want the world to know that you've had a grand total of 157 visitors ?