Website running costs

AC100 19:29 05 Apr 05

I am new to web design and looking to set up an information portal using Frontpage 2003. I'm hoping to get a reasonable amount of traffic to the site and would like to include a forum section (don't worry forum editor its nothing to do with computers or web design!).

I've noticed more and more sites asking visitors for donations towards the "increasing website running costs". Could someone explain what costs I will incur if my site is successful?

Thanks

mattyc_92 21:08 05 Apr 05

just your monthly/yearly bill.... but you can add banners to your site, and then you can get the money back that way....

phil 21:24 05 Apr 05

[quote]but you can add banners to your site[/quote]

It'll be a first then.

I ran banners on my site through Deal Group Media for three years and didn't get a sous.

Ok. It was only getting a thousand hits a day so maybe I didn't get enough traffic!!!

If your site is going to be a portal site then it depends upon what kind of portal site it is. If it's for gamers etc then you'll be struggling but if it's a local area type where businesses and events are linked to then you might be able to offset some of the costs by charging them.

The ideal way to keep costs to a minimum though is to get some cheap hosting with little bandwidth and fund it from your own pocket. Then as the site grows you can get a better (dearer) hosting arrangement.

It costs me around £100 p/a to run my site and I can live with that.

Forum Editor 22:48 05 Apr 05

you'll face is going to be your time. Web sites cost very little to host, and if you design the site yourself your development costs will be low.