Website photos (Serif package) - basic help?

bri-an 11:03 22 Apr 05

I am new to this, and using Serif PagePlus8 to produce a simple kind of website for myself.
I have photos from my digi camera (1600X1200, 200Kb approx) and wish to put thumbnails in a 'gallery' page and then a link so that a 'larger' image is available to view.
I am putting the 'Gallery'(with about 10 thumbnails) on one page and then making a new single page for each enlarged image linked (hope this is an acceptable method?). The 'mechanics' of the linking, I can manage. But photo sizing, compressing, etc. is giving me problems, and I am concerned about slow opening of the site if all the larger pictures have to download, or will they only download when a thumbnail is 'clicked'? (told you I was new to this!, sorry if that's a dumb question).
Any advice on how to produce acceptable image sizes etc would be most helpful. I have Serif PhotoPlus 5.0 - but am getting 'lost' with it!!
Thanks, any help - not too technical if possible, - greatly appreciated.

bri-an 14:52 22 Apr 05

Thanks for that, it gives me something to go on , and increased my minimum knowledge level!
Will now look at my photo packages to see what I can find. Cheers.

Pesala 17:20 23 Apr 05

PhP 5.0 is good enough, but you can upgrade for free, so why not do that? click here

Or try Irfan View: click here which has a feature for creating thumbnail galleries: click here though you may prefer the greater control of doing that in Page Plus as opposed to an automated process. It depends how many photos you want to add to your gallery. Ten is fine, but if it gets to be too much work, I would recommend Irfan View.