Website Host: Help me choose please?

Brazils 16:07 15 Oct 03

I am a beginner to web design, and I am looking for a host for my family's web site (mostly photos).

Q1. Would sub-domans allow each family member have their own web site? It would be much cheaper than having 4 domains.

Q2. I have a shortlist of hosts: HostPlus, UKHOST4U and Dataflame. Which should I choose?

Any other recommended hosts? I want an annual fee between £20 and £40. I want one fee annually, not monthly.

Thanks

barryoneoff.co.uk 00:24 16 Oct 03

You get five free sub domains with the home package. I have two sites with them and no complaints so far. click here

Cheers, Whiz...

tbh72 01:30 16 Oct 03

I use hostplus they have been excellent!!! You have two methods to update your website, both with benefits & pitfalls. I have found a nifty little trick using frontpage, which means I have now had my FPSE reinstalled. The only problem with this is PHP forums are very difficult / near impossible to set up, without manually creating a DB which is slightly over my head.

If you can use the supplied online website management feature you will have all the tools at your disposal to manage a very comprehensive website.

Brazils 08:56 16 Oct 03

I've already looked at 1&1 and agree that they are very good, but their payment method is monthly. This works out at about double the annual fee of the three I've shortlisted. I need a host that takes payment annually.

As you have sub-domains, could you answer Q1 for me please.

Thank you for your help.

tbh72 11:50 16 Oct 03

With hostplus using Frontpage you can quite easily create sub domains.

Brazils 18:00 16 Oct 03

Do sub-domains work like a separate domain, so that each family member can have a different site?

Are there limitations to this way of creating separate web sites?

Sorry to be a pain!

Thanks

Taran 18:18 16 Oct 03