Web page is good but no images!

kleefarr 02:07 05 Jul 03

I can post a web page in html on my website, but the image that is on the page doesn't show.

Why?

Any ideas gratefully received.

Kevin

bigdamouk 02:45 05 Jul 03

Try posting this in the Web Design forum aswell.

Are you sure that the image uploaded correctly into the same folder as the page? and that the path is pointing to the right image?

Kryten 08:03 05 Jul 03

Could you give us a link to the site so as we can take a look. your posting does not say much about the problem. Have you made sure the file names are only 8.3 files that can be read properly by the server. Also make sure you have written the links correctly (e.g not adding capitals in the link while there is none in the file name).

kleefarr 13:24 05 Jul 03

I am new to web design and am using Site Studio1.6RC2 which came with the web hosting package.

I have converted my own .xls pages to html and all look fine when preveiwing webpage.

They appear fine on the upload apart form the images. The place holder is there (square with red cross)and I have uploaded all images used to the images folder on the site.... however there are a couple of questions.

On the site there are two folders for images..

the first is images/ the second which is a subfolder of images is images.vti. My images are in the first one and all appear there.
When converting from excel to html via word the pages when saved had
a. word fomatt
b. html formatt
c. an image

Should I have uploaded the image that was created with the html doc? The ones I have uploaded are the ones used for the creation which are in other file.

This probably sounds like a load of twoddle....

and you can see I'm no expert in this feild.

Kevin

kleefarr 02:48 06 Jul 03

After a lot of fiddling and some trial and error, I have completed 99.9% of my website.

I can't seem to get the Index hyperlink right!!!

All of the other pages are my own construction, but the index page is a site builder one.