Web Guru Help & advice please...

spanneress 14:05 03 Jun 04

I am not a web designer, I can code in quite a few languages but have not touched HTML since I taught it years back in Notepad and things have moved on greatly since then.

I have been asked to design and build 3 web sites..one for a charity and two for small businesses who cannot afford to pay large company prices. I have no idea about pricing structure as this is not my 'thang'.

I am loathe to take the jobs on but have said I will as I do not want to see them ripped off, but am no longer in touch with any of my former students who would have done them for free for the practise and to detail them on their CV's...so....how much should one charge for a couple of basic pages? Front Page? Templates? Would it be easier to find a student or someone who needs the practise?

Leaving it to the professionals is not really an option as these companies are in their youth and benefit the community.

Any pointers, advise etc gratefully received.

Ithangewe

Spanneress

Taran 15:25 03 Jun 04

Pricing is always a thorny issue. I charge what I charge because I think it reflects the service I give and the experience I have. Some people charge a lot more than me, some charge less. I'm going to be terribly unhelpul and say that you should apply whatever cost you thin suitable and if nothing appropriate comes to mind base it on your time.

Many of my students like to get their teeth into projects of this nature and both parties can benefit, but often you have to gently nudge them in the right direction since a lot of students feel the urge to try and impress the world and his wife with whiz-bang animations, sound effects Flash movies and all kinds of other stuff. If you hand it over you should either do so in full and make your clients aware of this and let them deal direct with your accomplice or you could steer the project and remain at the helm.