Web design.Any help for a complete novice like me?

AlanRLong50 12:21 04 Mar 07

Hello.After having my computer for two years,I'm getting quite good at looking after it and enjoying being connected to the world.Please bear in mind I'm 53 now and self-taught but would like to take on a new challenge.I would like to create,design and publish a simple website of no more than 10/15 pages.I would like to know which jargon-free firms/websites/softwares for dummies(like me),that use simple, easy-to-follow instructions that I can purchase all the tools needed to do a website from please? Thank you very much for your kind help and hope to hear from you soon.Alan.

adamcoppard 13:36 04 Mar 07

you don't need a thing. just notepad, or download a three html editor from click here

Forum Editor 13:44 04 Mar 07

is what software you're going to use. There are many programs avalable, some excellent, some not so good, and you have to start somewhere.

I think that it's worth getting something that will enable you to get a site up and running fairly quickly, and then will keep pace with you as you become more proficient and ambitious. With this in mind, you couldn't really do better than a program called NetObects Fusion, which is easy to learn, and has a huge range of ready-made site templates and styles to get you going. You can read all about it if you click here

NetObjects has very comprehensive help files, and I doubt that you'll need anything further to get you started.

Once you have your software you'll need to have somewhere to host your new site, and although your ISP will undoubtedly provide you free space, if you're at all serious about this you'll want your own domain name and a 'proper' web-hosting account. This isn't nearly as expensive as some people think, and you'll have access to tools and facilities that an ISP free space just won't have.