Web Design for beginners

toga 14:52 04 Dec 04

Hello

I am just starting out in web design. Can anyone recomend a good web design book which will take me from start through to finish (working example, with examples of setting up pay pal etc.).

I have experience of Visual Basic programming and would like something which would use a similar launguage e.g. VB.net??

Any ideas
Many thanks

Forum Editor 17:10 04 Dec 04

you'll be working in html and my advice is to start with one of the better WYSIWYG design applications such as NetObjects Fusion, or Microsoft FrontPage 2003.

I am not personally a lover of learning from books - there are excellent tutorials and help files included with both programs, and many free tutorials are available online. My advice is to get the software and start experimenting -come back here for help and/or advice as and when you need it.

smudge101 09:59 05 Dec 04

Or you could just use notepad, it would give you an understanding of the HTML coding before you buy a WYSIWYG progam.
Starting to learn web publishing is alot like starting to learn programming in that there are lots of different ways you can approach it, different languages in programming, different scripting languages in web publishing. Alot depends on what you want to achieve.

I agree with Forum Editor though, there is so much good stuff about this subject on the internet it is hardly worth bothering about going out to buy a book.

A good place to start is here: click here

Taran 22:01 05 Dec 04

Web authoring using Notepad, or any other text editor for that matter, is irritating at best. I agree that coding is useful to learn, but since you already have some VB experience (you don't ay which version) it seems pointless to send you off on a codeslinging mission.

Any of the visual editors allow you to create your pages and site in no time at all.