Watching videos from laptop on TV via Humax HDR Fox T2

zeppman 14:11 18 Mar 14

I have a T2 freeview with WiFi dongle . I want to watch files that are on my Laptop via my wifi network on my TV through the Humax if possible. I have Tversity installed on my Laptop but it won't detect my humax box. I have heard about Linux but not sure if this is relevant and I would rather use the windows if I can get away with it. I'm not very technical when it comes to setting a home network so can you keep it simple. If this is streaming and not networking please let me know.

Ex plorer 14:28 18 Mar 14

Any good What OS are you running.

zeppman 16:20 18 Mar 14

Windows 7

zeppman 16:46 18 Mar 14

I can see my Humax on my laptop but cant play any files .But I want to be able to play the files on my laptop on my humax

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:01 18 Mar 14

you can't easily

the files on the box are encrypted and a copy via network doesn't decrypt them.

They are only decrypted when copied to a USB stick or external drive, this is why copying takes so long. HD files are also encrypted further than SD filea and you need a program called foxy to decrypt them before they will play.

If you are willing to risk it - there is custom software for the fox T2 that will Auto unprotect the files and allow you to stream to your laptop, it will also allow you to do lots of other things like set up a recording via internet while away from home.

Have a read of the two links provided.

zeppman 21:36 19 Mar 14

The files I want to watch are on my Laptop but when I go to Media then storage on the Humax to connect to my network it says no server has been found.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:59 19 Mar 14

You need a program to act as a DLNA server on the laptop something like media monkey

zeppman 16:40 21 Mar 14

I've installed Tversity but didn't humax didn't detect laptop is this the wrong app

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:40 21 Mar 14

Windows media player 11 will act as a server see here