W32 OPASERV.WORM

JoJoh 14:01 09 Sep 03

MY COMPUTERS ARE INFECTED WITH THE W32.OPASERV.WORM.I HAVE USED THE SYMANTEC TOOL TO DELETE IT (AND ALSO LOADED THE THE WINDOWS PATCH) HOWEVER I HAVE A VARIANT (THE "INI"
VARIANT)THAT HAS AFFECTED MY SYSBCUKUP FILES IN WINDOWS. I HAVE FOUND THAT 2 CAB FILES "RB003" AND "RB005" ARE COMPRESSED AND THAT THE WINI.INI FILES WITHIN THESE ARE INFECTED. WHEN I EXTRACT THE FILES,MY ANTI-VIRUS SOFTWARE WORKS AND DELETES THE VIRUS. THE PROBLEM IS THAT I AM UNABLE TO DELETE THE INI FILES FILES WITHIN THESE FOLDERS AS THERE IS NO OPTION TO DO SO,ONLY TO EXTRACT THEM. IS IT POSSIBLE TO REPLACE THE INI FILES WITHIN THESE CAB FOLDERS WITH ONES WHERE THE VIRUS HAS BEEN REMOVED? I CANNOT FIND A WAY OF DOING THIS.

I AM NO EXPERT AND DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS A CAB FOLDER.

FINALLY I AM RUNNING WIN 98 AND THE SAME HAS HAPPENED ON 3 OF OUR MACHINES. IS IT POSSIBLE TO RELOAD WIN98 98 SECOND EDITION) WITHOUT LOSING ANY FILES?

Jester2K II 16:56 09 Sep 03

Delete the CAB files with the infection. Windows will make new copies later (each time you boot)

these are a Rolling backup of your system files.

As long as you have RB001, RB002 etc just delete the ones that carry infection. they are no good anyway without ALL the files.

Jester2K II 17:17 09 Sep 03

Thanks for this. I have deleted a file called RB003 and windows has not replaced it when I rebooted. How vital is it for the windows operations?

naughty Jester - bad explanation.

Don't panic.

Here's what happens. Every now and then Windows makes a backup copy of your System Files and packs them in a file called a CAB file (Cabinet File - bit like a Zip file - in fact WinZip can open CAB files)

Windows keeps 5 sets of these, called RB001 - RB005. RB001 will be the oldest one.

When windows does the next backup (every few days / boots) it simply deletes the oldest one (RB001) and then RB002 becomes RB001, RB003 becomes RB002 etc and then the latest backup is called RB005.