VPN connectivity issues

stevejaw 16:18 09 Sep 08

I'm not very technically minded so please forigve if the below is not well structured.
I have a Belkin N router modem at home which I connect to the Internet through for my personal desktop PC at home. This works fine wirelessly and wired and causes me no issues - I can download, open e-mails send and receive them no problem.
However, I do have problems when I attempt to access through this to my business VPN on my works laptop that I have. The following happens:
1) Laptop connects fine to router wirelessly
2) Laptop connects to business system through VPN fine
3) I can open business Outlook on laptop and review incoming mails however when I try to send a mail I get a message saying it is trying to retrieve data from the mail server, and eventually get a Network connection has been lost message. During this whole time, the Wireless and VPN connection are still connected.
4) This also happens if I try to access files on the business system drives, both opening and saving/closing them cause me issues. I can see the files on the mapped drives but cant access them easily.
The connections speeds and signal strengths are good both when I connect via my own desktop PC and when I use the works laptop. I have tested the works laptop at work, connecting it wirelessly to a works router and then going in via vpn at work and this works fine, I can open and send/receive emails no problem and open and close files on the shared drives. This seems to rule out a laptop issue with my works laptop as it appears to only be an issue when I go through VPN at home.
Is this an issue therefore with my:
1) Belkin router?
2) My own Broadband connectivity at home?

Anyone any ideas?

L8-tian 19:17 10 Sep 08

Hi Stevejaw,

I understood your issue connecting the VPN.Let me know this did you ever tried connecting the VPN through the modem(with the wireless router).