Vista to XP - Advice needed

Bob Bob™ 17:06 16 Feb 09

Hello,
I have duplicated this thread here in hope that any extra traffic in the help room can get some replies faster. Hope thats ok.

Heres my dilema:
Well my Dad got some new computers last year (Dell Vostro 420 Quad Core, 4GB) and everything is running (oddly for Vista) rather smoothly.

Only problem hes had is slow first time network server access.

Anyway, he has been looking out for a certain program to some important task in the office and the maker has come out and said "We do not support Vista Home Premium so you must get Vista Business or XP"

Im a huge fan of XP myself, Im an audio engineer and it just wins hands down but my Dad is an accountant, so the situation is rather different.

From what I understand about Vista upgrades are

Home Premium to Business requires full reinstall, no in place install offered. Am I right?

If thats the case XP seems an attractive option since it would require the same process.

My Dads old machines are also Dells and we still have the XP CD from them so it should be a simple (free) case of using their product keys?

With Windows 7 popping up is it really worth spending money on Vista?

And the main question

How in the name of all thats holy can an application not run on Home Premium but run on Business?

This decision has alot riding on it, computer downtime, possible future problems so Id really appreciate some opinions on what should be done.

Thanks
Rob

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:21 16 Feb 09

"My Dads old machines are also Dells and we still have the XP CD from them so it should be a simple (free) case of using their product keys?"

Thats the route I would take.

bremner 17:34 16 Feb 09

What is the program that requires Business?

skeletal 17:43 16 Feb 09

And what is the program that will run on XP, but not on Vista home, but on Premium?

Given my long history of not getting Vista to work, it would be obviously XP for me, but I am very biased!

Skeletal