Vista and HP 5150 printer

JF25 16:05 24 Apr 10

I have been using my HP 5150 printer for a few years using XP on my PC.
When I try to print using my laptop using Vista the printer runs very fast and uninstalled it as I thought it may not have installed properly but the same thing happens. It does say that there is a compatable issue with the OS and I have tried to get some info off the HP site but that is not much help. I am considering replacing my PC with one running Windows 7 and now wondering if I will have to change my printer as well.
I should perhaps say that currently the printer runs from a USB1 socket but the printer is supposed to run on USB1 or USB2
Any suggestions would be welcome.

Sea Urchin 19:18 24 Apr 10

I'm not quite sure what you mean when you say "the printer runs very fast". But presumably it is not printing very fast (which wouldn't be a problem?). Have you installed the Vista driver for the printer? If not here it is:

click here

Install it with the printer (USB) disconnected, and follow instructions as to when to connect.

Sea Urchin 19:21 24 Apr 10

Don't click on the large blue download button - that is for Driver Detective. It's the link a bi further down which says "Click here to download"

JF25 11:47 28 Apr 10

Thanks for your reply Sea Urchin, unfortunately while I did as you suggested and downloaded the the Vista driver and was advised that it had been installed successfully. However when I tried to print a page the ink was still really heavy and smeared at the touch. It works perfectly with my desktop PC which has USB1 input.
I find that if I set the printer to Best it prints fine at a much lower speed.
I was wondering if the printer was only supposed to work on USB1 but according to the box it is a USB2 printer.
Thank You
John

Sea Urchin 12:23 28 Apr 10