Vista clean install help wanted

golfpro 14:53 03 Nov 08

I didn't know were to put this thread but I choose Help Room if it should be moved then do so.
I have an Acer laptop which I bought with Vista HP pre installed (German language version), I would now like to change the OS to Vista English. This means buying a new MS Vista disc in English. I would like to do a clean install over my German edition, but which one should I buy. I have looked on Amazon and the one which looks right is the "Windows Vista HP edition with service pack 1 (PC) 2008)". Is this correct or do you know better, I would like to know before forking out 138 quid.

Woolwell 16:06 03 Nov 08

I wonder if you can achiev what you want by not buying a new version of Vista but by installing a language file (LIP) click here
I have no personal experience of this.

mooly 16:49 03 Nov 08

An OEM Copy is much cheaper. About half the price, but it ties you to the machine you activate it on. Don't know whether they have SP1 included, suppose they will do at some point.

mooly 16:50 03 Nov 08

Here,
click here;jsessionid=AKMGAKBHLHYIMCQLCISJK0Q?N=411&Ntk=gensearch_003&Ntt=visya+oem&Ntx=&_requestid=158868

ventanas 17:04 03 Nov 08

The usual rubbish from the uninformed. OEM is for new build machines only, which clearly this is not, and golfpro is obviously aware of that.

golfpro 05:34 04 Nov 08

I went the OEM route once before when I changed ME for XP. To me it was a waste of money when I changed my computer after about one year the OEM went it, it could not be transferred to my new machine. I don't want to make the same mistake again.

mooly 08:16 05 Nov 08

Sorry to be one of the uninformed. Only trying to help.
I thought an OEM copy could be used on any PC whether or not it was a new build and whether or not a previous operating system had been installed. I did state it was tied to the machine it was activated on, ie not transferable.