virus

swanny2 21:11 26 Dec 05

i just clicked on a link an my pc has got infected with Spyware . im a novice an dont know what do .it started scannin me pc an found 72 threats ,then asks me if i want too heal them i clik yes and it asks,for a code.hmm,
heres some things i jotted down .spyware sherrif trojan VX. klone threat found in registry key cool web search. spyware infection .
Ive ran spybot an it fixed 38 probles. ive got a firewall with windows xp an AVG. Ive no idea what do next.when i reboot it just scans again an same things pop up . any help please .im running windows xp media centre.
cheers .
Swanny :P

Sharpamatt 21:31 26 Dec 05

presume your AGV has been updated, but if not update it and run a full scan. If you find the problems are not fully removed they may also have infected the system restore

In which case you should turn off system restore scan and then turn it on again. but you will loose all previous restore points.

to turn off system restore. Programs/Accessarys/system tools/system restore you will find access to system settings on the left hand side.

If you give the information on what spyware program you are running somone may be able to help with the code, ( I suspect it is an expired trial copy )

Adding details of your firewall may also help, I myself use Zone Alarm Pro which has a spyware scanner.( but I disable the windows one when this is in use )

My AVG I check every day for updates before doing a scan

swanny2 21:37 26 Dec 05

im running a scan now found virus klone and 12 infected areas ,upto now..
i have spybot and spyware blaster i downloaded that blaster after the virus tho ..

Kev.Ifty 21:40 26 Dec 05

Try this Antispy program

click here

swanny2 21:41 26 Dec 05

this has finished scanning an healed 10/12 objects. shall i turn off system restore and scan again ?
cheers:P)

swanny2 21:45 26 Dec 05

kev... do i need too download that genuine windows validation component ?

swanny2 21:47 26 Dec 05