Virgin wireless connection

Piedpiper1 19:54 21 Feb 07

Yesterday I successfully upgraded my broadband connection to wireless, & subsequently relocated my PC. I tested the connection, which was successful & closed down my PC. Then today I had difficulty connecting. The signal strength is very good, however the status was showing not connected. I selected repair and it tried to renew the IP settings but it was unsuccessful. The only way I can manage to connect is to uninstall & re-install the wirelaess adapter each time.
In addition since I went wireless I am unable to receive e-mails via MS outlook.
Can anyone help me - a complete novice.

Ashrich 21:38 21 Feb 07

How are you trying to connect ? Are you using the supplied software that came with the adapter , if so , go into Network connections in Control Panel , right click on your wireless connection and select properties , click on the " Wireless Networks " tab and tick the box " " Use Windows to configure etc. " Ok your way back to the desktop . Double click on the single monitor icon that will appear and select " View wireless networks " find yours ( if it isn't there , go back into the router setup and turn the SSID back on ) double click on your network and enter the network security key twice ( once , then again to confirm ) you should then connect .

Ashley

STREETWORK 21:39 21 Feb 07

For your email to work you need to select how to connect the outlook program.

Tool, Accounts, Select account and then properties, then the connection tab and select your connection, apply/ok the boxes and try again...

Strawballs 23:04 21 Feb 07

If you are using the software that came with the adapter try dissableing it and letting windows manage the wireless.

Ashrich 23:28 21 Feb 07

errrr , I think that's what I said in my post ...;)

Ashley

Piedpiper1 11:03 22 Feb 07