Virgin Surfboard modem thru Sky Netgear router

robbinz 14:44 24 Jun 08

Ok first of all this is ridiculous as I have a degree in networked computing lol.

So im in my folks house and they have BB with virgin that comes in thru a motorola Surfboard SB5101E. I now want to connect it to a wireless router so that I can have wireless internet.
Currently I have: COAX going into modem. Ethernet from modem to router. Ethernet from router to PC. I can connect both PC and wireless LOCALY. But I am not getting any internet. When I connect to the router the two LEDS on the front flash really rapidly. I have one idea though.
The connection between the modem and the router is not going into the routers WAN port. Does that matter?

The router is a Netgear DG834GT, 108MB, G, Firmware - V1.03.87

Actually now that I look, It states the MAC for the ADSL port. I suppose it must need the connection to the WAN port then yea.

And silly question but do you get USB-modem cables?

Any input would be great.

Thank you

brundle 18:11 24 Jun 08

"The connection between the modem and the router is not going into the routers WAN port."

No internet that way.Surfboard is a cable modem, you appear to have an ADSL router. The two are entirely different and require different hardware. You need something like a WGR614; click here

robbinz 18:32 24 Jun 08

I would rather avoid buying another router if possible. WHat about a RJ11 to RJ45 Patch cable.
Ive seen some online. Would that work?

robbinz 18:34 24 Jun 08

Sorry or even a RJ11 to RJ45 straight thru :S

brundle 18:41 24 Jun 08

None that I know of. It's not just a case of attaching the correct connectors with a suitable cable, different signals and formats.

brundle 18:45 24 Jun 08

Maybe something like these; click here

robbinz 18:45 24 Jun 08

Yea i know there is a differance between the router (adsl) and modem (dsl), but I wasnt sure how the router would handle the signal from the modem. :(