Viable alternative to Outlook express?

nick_j007 18:46 10 Nov 04

For longer than I can remember now my O.E. on Win XP sends all my emails with attachments out twice.

Nobody can seem to help; even my ISP (Wanadoo) has stopped replying in the hope I go away! It does not happen if I use their web mail, but that is very inconvenient to use as I send a lot of jpgs about as I am a keen photographer. O.E. does a nice job of compressing and sending from my PC.

I was thinking today if there was a equal (nearly) to O.E. as then I could try downloading it and giving it a try to see if that stops the problem. Also, would I still be able to go into 'My Pictures' click 'Email this folders files' and the email software come in to send them?

Oh yes, could I import to this new prog. all my O.E. folders?

Many thanks.

Nick

ripvan 18:59 10 Nov 04

have a look at this
click here

Dan the Confused 19:01 10 Nov 04

Here are some free email clients, although I've only ever used OE so don't know much about them. (I have heard Eudora is quite good.) click here

Dorsai 19:04 10 Nov 04

Of try thunderbid, click here

if you also get firefox from same link, they go well together, like 'gin' and 'tonic'.

terendak_uk 19:07 10 Nov 04

as your default, as you're used to the layout?

nick_j007 19:10 10 Nov 04

Oh boy...loads to look at/choose from.

Outlook...same name, in what way does it vary?

Thank you all for the links etc...much appreciated!

Sir Radfordin 19:16 10 Nov 04

Pegaus Mail click here is one that I used for a long time before needing to switch to Outlook.

Outlook isn't just OE by a different name, it is a much more advanced application offering more than just an email client. Most people would think it overkill for your needs.

Diodorus Siculus 19:16 10 Nov 04

Another vote for Thunderbird. I switched to it a couple of weeks ago after using Becky! for 7 years ago. It's excellent when rightly configured.

nick_j007 19:19 10 Nov 04