VHS to DVD for absolute beginner

GrannyA 06:59 20 May 10

I'm 70 and not at all techi but would like to transfer my VHS home movies to DVD. Needs to be fairly simple and not too costly please.

johnincrete 07:34 20 May 10

I'm a granddad I have the same problem. I've had lots of advice and still can't get it to work. The closest I got was to transfer the picture but not the sound.
I'm in Crete where the "experts" are not experts - just macho. Maybe you could get a grandchild to set it up for you (like we used to get them to programme the VCR)
You will need a bit added to your computer which is designed for TV programmes so you need a bit of help. Then there is the dreaded cable. Then there is the software. It's all in that new language that youngsters just know & which totally baffles me
Do you know there are companies that do it for you - I'm guessing but you could probably get up to 5 done for the cost of doing them yourself.
I'm looking forward to seeing what the real experts on this forum have to say - you certainly have come to the right place!

dogtrack 07:35 20 May 10

It is a very tricky business for a complete novice.

However if you have a look in the following forum you should get some assistance.

click here

The easiest way is to have a combination VHS/DVD recorder and play your tape while recording onto a disc. Not sure if they are still available though...old technology.

And bear in mind that if your tapes are of the Bought variety, the will have copy protection which will prevent you from making copies.

hastelloy 07:44 20 May 10

VHS machines are still around and you need to connect one to a DVD recorder using a scart cable. Set the DVD reorder source to AV and then record.

eedcam 08:33 20 May 10