Very Very new to web design ,need advise

Boy Zone 13:35 27 Oct 03

Hi to you all, I am very new to web design. Have been playing with Dreamweaver MX now for about 2 months, managed to construct some web pages, but what I would love to do is have my index page with graphics rather than just a picture. I thought I could do this using Adobe photoshop but I'm stuck. Having reviewed some of the help furum web designs, I would be too embarrassed to ask for your opinion on my first attempt. I have the basic knowledge, but lack the know-how of how to design backgrounds for pages. Any advise would be appreciated.

Taran 14:55 27 Oct 03

To begin with, welcome to the WebDesign forum !

No question you could ask will be ridiculed: at the end of the day we all started somewhere and I shudder to think back to my first sites...

A coupe of links to point you to resources on web page backgrounds are as follows:

click here

click here

A tiled background is normally your best best to begin with, since a small image tile (a square) is repeated over the entire page. The small image means it downloads faster and Dreamweaver can easily use it to cover a whole page.

Beware of using one large image for your web page backgrounds. They take ages to download and if you have descriptive text on your page the background image can often detract from it.

If you get stuck, pop back in and ask some specific questions and one of us will try and help further.

One final note, many professional web designers stay away from backgound images entirely. Many of use prefer a standard white page background with a selection of well presented text paragraphs and high quality pictures for page content.

Just a thought.

Good luck with it

kingkenny 15:03 27 Oct 03

I am new to this all too

but i like this link, give it a try

click here

Boy Zone 20:14 27 Oct 03

Thanks for your help.