Very noisy Evesham

My recent PC purchase from Evesham was delivered today. I powered it up and immediately noticed a very noisy fan. I'm not technical and I'm assuming it's a fan due to the whooshing noise. I know PCs do make some noise but this is really quite loud and, to my mind, unbearable. You can even hear it when soft music is playing and being blasted out of five speakers.

I've already spoken to Evesham Technical Support and an engineer will be coming round in a week's time.

My only concern is that they will tell me this is normal. Can this possibly be normal? The noise is louder than another old PC I have which is 7 years old!!!

And what are my consumers rights (regarding a complete refund) if I remain dissatisfied after the engineer's visit? Is there a time period in which I must return the PC?

Any swift help would be very much appreciated.

shovel1440 19:54 21 May 04

I've had my Evesham computer for 2 years and I would agree with you that the fans make a hell of a racket. I was told at the start that office computers are naturally loud!!!!! I've just lived with it as I didn't know any better, otherwise it has been an excellent computer. Hopefully you'll get something sorted.

SANTOS7 20:09 21 May 04

click here this should help

I've already had a look at the T&Cs and am a bit concerned that under the distance selling regulations, I have 7 days after receipt of goods to notify them that I wish to return the PC. As the engineer isn't coming out until another week, this 7 day period would already have elapsed. I'm assuming that any returns beyond this period will be up to Evesham's discretion or have I missed something else?

SANTOS7 20:45 21 May 04

click here helpful info here, but as you have an engineer calling i would wait and see exactly what they have to say or do regarding the fan in question. it may well be that it is loose or something very simple to fix