very basic question

Steven135 22:18 14 Aug 03

I have just published a website which I was asked to make (in my ignorance I am the most advanced with compouters in my orginisation).

I have no experience at all regarding Web design and maintenance and used Serif WebPlus 8 to create the site, simple enough just like using PagePlus8

Today I have placed the site on Active ISP and its working OK.

My question: How do I update the site, when I alter or add information do I upload the whole site?

When I tried to just upload 1 altered page it messed all the graphics up and I had to load the whole thing.

I said I was really am abysmally ignorant when it comes to Web design never having bothered till now this and other questions prove it.

Steven135 22:19 14 Aug 03

I was really am!!! Need a grammer transfusion.

Forum Editor 00:38 15 Aug 03

post the url of your site, so we can see it?

I am not familiar with PagePlus - I've never used it - but most web design packages will publish changes to a server via FTP. The important things is to ensure that your local copy (the one on your hard drive) is the one that you work on. Don't work live on the server copy, because if you do, and you haven't saved the same changes back to the hard drive there's a danger that if the server goes down you'll lose all your work.

Work on the local copy and then publish the changes to the server.

barryoneoff.co.uk 02:21 15 Aug 03

but is there not an option to publish 'Changed assets only' as there is with NOF?

Whiz...

By the way FE, the white BG is looking ok, will post when finished (didn't want to start a new thread yet).

Steven135 09:29 15 Aug 03

Thanks FE the site is very basic and need much more work:
click here

Patr100 18:02 15 Aug 03