Using IE to update web site?

stlucia 10:57 23 Feb 09

I've been maintaining my web sites using Terrapin FTP for several years now, without any problem.

Yesterday, after not updating for about six months, Terrapin gave an error message that the server wouldn't accept my request, or words to that effect.

My web site hoster has told me how to view the files in my web site using Internet Explorer and, sure enough, I can. Now I see when I've got the files on my screen there's a menu option to "Synchronise".

I'm scared to go any further at the moment in case I screw something up which I can't undo because Terrapin's not working. So can someone confirm that with IE I can maintain my web site by nominating the folder on my PC that contains the relevant files, then telling it to synchronise them with what's on my web site?

MAJ 13:02 23 Feb 09

IE isn't a great as an FTP client, use Filezilla. click here

stlucia2 07:52 24 Feb 09

Thanks, MAJ. I'll try Filezilla later, but for the moment I need to find out how to use IE to update my web files.

I'm sure there's something wrong with the web server, but my ISP's helpline is asking me to try accessing the site using IE instead of Terrapin. They say I should be able to drag and drop files, but I can't figure out how.

P.S. Sorry about the different user name. I got logged in as this name by mistake, and can't figure out how to change back to my old account !!

mgmcc 08:06 24 Feb 09
  mgmcc 08:09 24 Feb 09

Sorry, the forum software has totally messed that up. The URL is (without spaces):

f t p: // username:password @ ftpserver.com

stlucia 09:03 24 Feb 09

Thanks, mgmcc, that's cracked it. I had a bit of a problem finding the address bar, but I've now opened Windows Explorer twice, and dragged and dropped my updated files to my web site successfully.

I'll have a look at Explorer2 and, if it works just like that, I'll ditch my Terrapin FTP.

stlucia 20:10 24 Feb 09