USB / WinME driver problems

Rodders 16:09 03 Jul 04

I have been running WinME for 4 years and so far haven't had any problems that couldn't sort themselves out.

I bought a digital camrea last year which connects via USB to download the images from the SmartMedia card. No problems until I installed some new software (from the Fuji camera disk) to allow me to edit videos. Since then, my PC has been unable to find the correct driver to link to the camera.

I gave up trying and bought a card reader, installed the drivers as instructed. Now I get the same problem.

When I look in device manager under "Other Devices" there is an entry "Mass storage device" which has a yellow exclamation mark next to it. I believe this means it is disabled. If I double-click it, it tells me that the drivers are not installed.

I cannot work out where the driver is or how to get this to automatically sort itself out, just like it says on the box "Plug & Play...........driverless and effortless to use"

Can anyone prod me towards getting this sorted ?

Mat2 18:40 03 Jul 04

Hi Rodders

Did you get a drivers disk with the card reader, if so have a look on there to see there is any drivers for ME.

mat2

Rodders 20:32 03 Jul 04

The drivers disk has a Setup program which installs the driver for me, however I can see no drivers on the disk itself.

Does the setup program 'unpack' the drivers from the CD or does it just find the correct drivers from those I already have installed? I have no idea how drivers work, are they product specific or does windows have certain drivers with it that should work for the majority of products ?

Mat2 20:43 03 Jul 04

Hi Rodders

The setup program should unpack drivers and installs them. Have you tried unplugging the card reader and plugging it back in so ME find new hardware wizard comes up.

Mat2

Rodders 20:48 03 Jul 04

I ask it to find the drivers for me, it searches for a while then tells me that it couldn't find any!