USB Gamepad?

boon_intheuk 14:39 14 Apr 03

Hello all, the Gamepad that is plugged into the game port on my sound card stopped working in so much as WinME could not detect in "game controllers", incase the Gamepad and/or Gameport are faulty I purchased a "Rockfire" Star Traveller Gamepad with a USB connection,
Some time ago I installed two USB ports into my PC by the way of a PCI card.
I have never tried to use them before. I believe you can plug USB connecting hardware into your PC without the usual stopping and starting of your PC so I plugged the Gamepad straight into one of the USB ports, but it does not seem to work.
It does not show up in "Game controllers" and if I try and "add" a gamepad to the list it still can't detect it.
Does anyone know if I am doing anything wrong?
Also is there anyway of checking the USB ports on my PC to see if they work ? (I don't have any other hardware with USB connectivity).
There was no software with the Gamepad.
Any help would as always be much appreciated.
Thanks, Boon.

SIS530 Mobo
AMD K6-2 400Mhz CPU
384 MBs PC100 SDRAM
Creative Savage 4 32MB graphics card (PCI)
TBS Montego Bay sound card (PCI)
200W power supply

eccomputers 16:08 14 Apr 03

you need to go into control panel, system and then click on hardware followed by device manager.
Scroll down to the universal serial bus section at the bottom and check that there are no exlamation marks on them indicating problems.
Also, check they are not listed as unknown devices. You should have had a disk for them.

boon_intheuk 17:48 14 Apr 03

Thank you, just to clarify, are you saying I should have had a disk with the USB ports PCI card?
Could I find the software for the card on the internet?
There do not seem to be any problems in the USB section of device manager.
Thanks, Boon.

boon_intheuk 23:16 14 Apr 03

Anyone else have any idea's?

rev.bem 23:30 14 Apr 03

You shouldn't need any software for your usb card