URGENT PC HUGE NOISE WHIRRING HELP PLZ!

Hello,

A few days back my PC noise has dramatically increased its like a whirring noise and at the moment sounds like a formula 1 racing car when its accelerating. I'm extremely worried my friends on the internet think its the fans while another says its the power. Please help and give me your suggestions. I have no PC Hardware experience, what do u suggest i do? Thanks please reply asap

justme 21:10 24 May 03

To cause a whirring noise there must be something moving. The only things which move in a pc are the fans (in power supply unit, cooling fan on cpu and the fan(s) which draw air through the box) and the disc drives.

If the noise is constant then the only drive to cause concern is the hard drive.

I suggest that you listen carefully to locate where the noise is coming from and this will point you in the right direction to diagnosing the problem. If you feel confident enough to open the box then it may be easier to locate the exact place the noise is coming from, but please be careful as the power must be switched on and you don't want your hair becoming entangled in any of the fans or even worse getting into the mains power inside the power supply unit.

Happy1 21:11 24 May 03

Fans but it also could be Hard Drive. Save as much Data as you can by backing up on to external zip discs CD RW or whatever you back up to just in case. Somebody on this Forum should be along soon who knows more and can help you. Sorry I can't help further.

behrouzn 21:11 24 May 03

Its normally always the Power supply fan, they're normally pretty bad.

If it isnt that, you can check if its your CPU or graphics card fan by stopping them for a second while the computer's on (careful not to touch any metal components)

Rtus 22:46 24 May 03