!!!Urgent!!!! Help with buying Laptop

sam_b_444 14:06 10 Dec 05

Hi
I just wanted to ask among the well brand Laptop such as Sony, Fujitsu Siemens and Dell with same specifications which one is better and reliable?

Many Thanks

Diodorus Siculus 14:13 10 Dec 05

There is no answer to that question - they are all good machines.

If I had to go for one of those, it would be Dell as Sony are somewhat overpriced, I think. FS I have little experience of; personal favourite is Toshiba.

Skills 14:15 10 Dec 05

Ive seen sony laptops I think there very nice, I have a fujitsu one myself and it feels well built as has the sony ones that ive seen. Personally ive never used a dell laptop so cant comment on them.

The one occassion ive had to use fujitsu support they were very quick and sorted my problem out with no fuss.

I think you'll probably pay slightly more for the sony as you are paying for there branding but as I said they are nice laptops.

Modo 15:28 10 Dec 05

Dell tend to do well as a corporate supplier. They have a bit of a reputation for being good as long as they are going. Consummer pricing can be a bit sly. the advertised model is often very cheap but to upgarde to what you really want can be a little over the odds.

As Diodorous says sony command a price premium. But do look at their website to buy direct. Models due for replavement can be very competitively priced on their website. If you don't need the fastest cpu and the latest configuration they can be good value.

Don't know much about Fujitsu. They don't have any great reputation for robustness. That may explain why they are advertising the new model as being the best of Japanese innovation and German build quality.