Uploading to a third party site

Graham ® 13:25 22 Jan 05

I may be taking on the job of updating a local web site for a national charity. This consists of posting photographs and text.

I have no prior experience of websites (apart from browsing them!), so a few words of wisdom will be most welcome.

Sir Radfordin 16:35 22 Jan 05

A lot is going to depend on how they have their main site set up. It may be that they have a Content Managment System that you can use, or it may be that you just have webspace. I suggest a conversation with the main webmaster would be a good starting point.

If you just have webspace available to you then you are going to be free to do pretty much as you want so a quick read through some of the other beginer posts would be a sensible start.

Graham ® 19:51 22 Jan 05

Thanks. If necessary, I will be taking over from someone already doing the job, as they have other commitments now.

I'm sure Head Office will provide instructions, passwords, etc. I just wanted to hit the ground running!

Forum Editor 07:46 23 Jan 05

if you can find out which software the previous webmaster used. Your job far easier if you use the same program, and I suggest that your first move, once you have the site's login details, should be to transfer a full copy of the existing site to your hard drive.

Once you've done that you're safe - you can always re-publish the site as it was if your first attempts at changes go wrong.

When you want to make your changes - at least to begin with - run two copies of the site on your drive. Open it in the chosen software, make some changes, and save it back to your drive with a version number (mysite ver_2). Then you'll have the original version, plus your revised version. Publish that one to the server and see how you get on. If something goes wrong just re-publish the original, and you'll be back where you started.