Upgrading from USB1.1 to USB2.0

nic davies 15:53 24 May 07

Please be aware I am a complete novice when it comes to matters 'computer'. I use my PC as a tool but have no idea how it all works.

My computer tells me that my USB devices (external hard drive etc) can work faster if I use a hi-speed connection but then, having searched, tells me I have no such capability on my computer. I assume this means I am running USB1.1 and need to upgrade to USB2.0. What do I have to do/buy to upgrade my PC to allow me to get the best from my external USB devices (I handle a lot of images as part of my work)?

I think the relevant detail is:

Intel(R) 82801BA/BAM Universal Host Controller -2442 (and - 2444).

Apologies for being SO ignorant! Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Kate B 15:58 24 May 07

Blimey, if your machine only has USB1 it's an old one. You can easily add a USB2 card click here so long as you or someone you know is happy to open up the side of the machine and stick it in a spare PCI slot. But what version of Windows are you using? I'm not sure which version rolled out support for USB2.

recap 16:00 24 May 07

When purchasing a USB 2.0 card ensure that it support the operating system that you have. Some USB 2.0 cards do not support Windows 98 or earlier.

Technotiger 16:00 24 May 07

Hi, all you need is a USB2 PCI Card, you can get one with four external USB Ports ...

click here

Totally-braindead 16:00 24 May 07

If your computer doesn't have USB 2.0 then what you need is a USB 2.0 PCI card like one of these click here theres many others click here different makes, different number of ports etc.
You do need to be using Windows 98 se or above and have a free PCI slot, they are the white ones on your motherboard at the bottom, there will be at least 2 of them on your board up perhaps more.

If you get one only these ports will be USB 2.0 the others will stay USB 1.1.

Totally-braindead 16:01 24 May 07